Republic of Tunisia
Ministry of Cultural Affairs

Tunisia World Heritage
 > Tunisia World Heritage

World Heritage in Tunisia

Tunisia has always been marked by the different civilizations that have succeeded one another on its territory. It is a country distinguished by its rich historical and authentic cultural heritage. 7 Tunisian archaeological cultural sites are classified as World Heritage by UNESCO including :

The archaeological site of Carthage (1979)

The Roman amphitheater of El Jem (1979)

The Medina of Tunis (1979)

The Punic City of Kerkouane and its Necropolis (1986)

The Medina of Kairouan (1988)

The Medina of Sousse (1988)

The Archaeological Site of Dougga (1997)

Intangible Cultural Heritage in Tunisia

Intangible Heritage includes traditions or expressions inherited from our ancestors such as performing arts or know-how. In 2022, Tunisia has five elements registered as intangible cultural heritage on the representative list. These are: the skills of Sejnane pottery (2018), the knowledge associated with the date palm (2019), the skills and practices related to the production and consumption of couscous (2020), Charfiya fishing in the Kerkennah Islands (2020) and the knowledge, practices and skills of Arabic calligraphy (2021).

Powered by Web Design